Warriors in the News

Sherwood competes at the 4A level and is currently in the 4A North region. Since 1974, the Warriors have won 25 state championships, 56 regional championships, 16 county championships and 124 divisional championships.

Here are some highlights from the 2011-2012 school year:

Baseball-4A North Region

2012 NCAA-BOUND ATHLETES: Sherwood athletes to play at collegiate level: Eighteen student-athletes ready to take the next step

Basketball – Boys – 4A North Region
Magruder, Sherwood advance to region finals

Lacrosse – Boys MCPS 4A East Division

Lacrosse – Girl’s MCPS 4A East Division

Softball – MCPS 4A East Division, 4A North Region, 4A State Champions
Sherwood wins first state softball title: Warriors cap undefeated season with 1-0 victory against Chesapeake

Swimming/Diving – Girls MCPS Division II 4A/3A North Region; 200 Freestyle State Champion – Anna Kolanowski

Volleyball – Girls – MCPS Blue Division 4A North Region, 4A North State Champions
Warriors sweep Arundel to win third consecutive 4A state volleyball championship

Volleyball – Boys MCPS Red Division; Volleyball – Coed MCPS Red Division

Sherwood student-athletes continue to draw accolades from local media.  More than a dozen SHS sports programs are represented by All-Gazette honors in the 2011-2012 school year.

2012 All-Gazette Honors

Baseball – Matt Chanin, Colin McMahon-Honorable Mention

Basketball, Boys – Scott Bolen-Second Team, Charlie Rogers-Honorable Mention

Girls Basketball – Katie Ruth-Honorable Mention

Cross Country-Boys – Dustin Kang, Matt Stitzlein-Honorable Mention

Cross Country-Girls – Grace McDonald-Honorable Mention

Field Hockey- Emily Kenul-2nd Team

Football- Fernando Smith, Fitz Mofor-2nd Team, Richie DiPietro, Jake Ryder-Honorable Mention

Ice Hockey-Kevin Phillip-Honorable Mention

Indoor track, boysNick Johnson-1st Team

Lacrosse, Boys- Connor Welch-2nd Team, Griffin Paquin, Sean Prin-Honorable Mention

Lacrosse, Girls- Emily Kenul-1st Team, Maddie Doan, Becca Dunwoody, Amanda Harrington-2nd Team, Taylor Polhemus-Honorable Mention

Soccer, Boys – Johnny De Moya-2nd Team

Soccer, Girls – Hope Gouterman-Honorable Mention

Softball – Coach of the Year: Pat Flanagan, 1st Team: Kristen Holonich, Kelsey Lineberger, Megan McDonough, Amelia Naik, Nicole Stockinger; 2nd Team-Meggie Dejter

Swimming – Anna Kolanowski-1st Team

Volleyball, Boys – Kevin Carter-1st Team, Gabe Donovan-Honorable Mention

Volleyball, Girls – Player of the Year: Alex Holston, 1st Team: Sydney West, 2nd Team: Megan Hewitt,  Maddie Moyer, Honorable Mention: Morgan McAlpin, Dominque Parker