Hall of Fame

Sherwood High School held its third Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Friday, September 22nd, 2017 during halftime of the Sherwood vs Richard Montgomery football game.

Congratulations to the 2017 Inductees!


Donald Hobbs, Jr. (Football, Basketball)
Jack Burk, Jr. (Football)
Tim Garner (Wrestling)
Phil Seraphin (Football)
Jim Webb (Football)
Shane Stroup (Track)
Brian Willson (Wrestling)
Hank Schulz (Basketball)
Leslie Bond Schulz (Basketball)
Jim Bentson (Soccer)


Jack Burk, Sr. (Football, Basketball)
Don Gable (Soccer)
Lannie Seymour (Football, Baketball, Track)


1969 Wrestling Team
1971 Track & Field Team
1972 Football Team
1980 Field Hockey Team

Special Contributors

Gene Orndorff
Mike and Lisa McCarthy

Click Here to view the
2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Luncheon Program



2015 Sherwood High School Hall of Fame Inductees

Inductee Year Sport Category
Willard “Billy” Bond 1939 Baseball, Soccer, Basketball, Track Athlete
Frank Bready 1950 Baseball, Football, Basketball Athlete
Steve White 1965 Basketball, Baseball Athlete
Paul Johnson 1965 Basketball, Baseball Athlete
Richard “Dickie” Hill 1965 Football, Track, Basketball Athlete
Tommy Davis 1966 Baseball, Basketball, Football, Track Athlete
James Thomas 1968 Basketball Athlete
Dave Bratt 1969 Football, Baseball Athlete
Monica Merkel (Rogers) 1971 Basketball, Field Hockey, Softball Athlete
Jeffrey L. Smith 1972 Basketball, Track, Football Athlete
Carter Willson 1973 Football, Wrestling, Baseball Athlete
Gordon Butler 1978 Basketball Athlete
Andrea Burton 1980 Basketball, Soccer, Tennis, Track, Softball Athlete
Tom Wheeler 1982 Wrestling, Football, Baseball Athlete
Ginny Hanlon 1985 Track Athlete
Mike Truby 1985 Wrestling Athlete
Tim Connor 1954-1984 Coach – Baseball Coach
Bob Stroup 1963-1991 Coach – Football Coach
Michael Hogue 1966-1991 Coach – Football, Softball, Wrestling Coach
Basil “Billy” Harrison 1969-1998 Coach – Baseball, Tennis, Football Coach
Mel Laughner 1970-2001 Coach – Basketball, Football, Baseball Coach
Kathy Marron 1978-1985 Coach – Field Hockey Coach
Gene Boteler 1969-Current Contributor Contributor
1972 Baseball Team 1972 1972 Baseball Team Team
1974 Girl’s Basketball Team 1974 1974 Girl’s Basketball Team Team
1979 Boy’s Basketball Team 1979 1979 Boy’s Basketball Team Team


In 2010, the Warrior Club established a new tradition for Sherwood High School by founding the Athletic Hall of Fame and weekend celebration activities. The school, which has been a force in county athletics for decades, honored an inaugural class of 14 members who were honored in-person and posthumously.

The inaugural inductee class:

Richie Anderson (football), Jack Bentley (baseball), Coach Tony Caruso (football), Coach Warren Crutchfield (baseball, cross country, track & field), Coach Marshall Dauberman (wrestling), Art Fennington (Community Service), Katie Jenkins (basketball, track & field), Oguchi Onyewu (soccer – member of the U.S. National Soccer team), Nina Roffey (gymnastics), Charles “Pickles” Smith (baseball), Mike Smith (football, track & field), Bobby Truby (wrestling), Takisha Williams (basketball, track & field) and the 1977 Undefeated State Champion Soccer Team.

The inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame weekend was described by Terri Hogan in the Gazette in the following two articles:

Monday, Nov 1, 2010 Gazette Article

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 Gazette Article